Home Forums Free Themes Education Hub WooCommerce page layout issues with Education Hub theme

Tagged: 

This topic contains 8 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  wensolutions 9 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #16027

    evollo
    Participant

    We are evaluating the Education Hub theme for our website: http://www.freddykaltenborn.com. Very nice! Except that the WooCommerce page layouts are poor. (See http://www.freddykaltenborn.com/books-tools/).

    1. On Woocommerce pages, the sidebar appears below the main content rather than to the side, both on the category/archive page and on the product pages.

    2. On Woocommerce pages, there is no white space margin to the left/right of the page content, which is most noticeable when Layout Options are set to “boxed”.

    Are there plans to fix these Woocommerce display issues in the free version of the Education Hub theme?

    We also have some suggestions for your default layouts, which we will need to customize unless these features are available in the paid Education Hub Pro theme customizer.

    a) Text content is hard to read when it runs the full page length from left to right. This could be mitigated via use of a sidebar combined with constraint of the maximum width of the display page, or with CSS to constrain maximum text column width within the page content.

    b) Default font size and line spacing too small for easy reading on some screen displays.

    In our view, all themes should consider readability issues in their layouts, although few do. Ideal text column widths and font sizes for readability have been researched and are documented in the literature.

    #16048

    wensolutions
    Keymaster

    Hello @evollo,

    The display configurations you have listed with the WooCommerce page layout are supported only in the pro version of the Education Hub Theme.

    We will continue the WooCommerce support for the Pro version of the theme but there are currently no plans to add the WooCommerce support for the Free version of the theme.

    Regarding your suggestions on page layout, the first point seemed bit confusing to us, however the customization you have indicated in second point can be achieved in the Pro version with custom CSS implementation.

    Please let us know if you decide to purchase the pro version of the theme, so that we can assist you through all customization as per your requirements through support.

    Have a great weekend ahead,
    Best Regards !!

    #16081

    evollo
    Participant

    I have already implemented and begun some customization in a Child theme for Education Hub (free). Will I need to create a new/different Child theme for Education Hub Pro?

    #16221

    wensolutions
    Keymaster

    Hello,

    Yes you will have to make a new child theme for the pro version but you can duplicate the free version of the child theme rename it and change the template name to education-hub-pro.

    Or you can create a new child theme with an easy child theme generator plugin
    ( https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-child-theme-generator/ ) and add your changes to it.

    Hope you understand.
    Best regards.

    #17231

    evollo
    Participant

    Thank you for your helpful reply. As I was about to purchase Education Hub Pro, I noticed that an annual payment will be required. This will not work for us, as this website generates no income. The blog author is a retired professor now 92 years of age. Our hope is that his teachings will survive in perpetuity. We must therefore continue our search for either a free theme or one that offers lifetime upgrades with a single purchase. Too bad. Yours is the best theme we have seen thus far for this professor’s content and writing style. That said, we certainly understand the business necessities of your pricing model, and wish you every success in the future.

    #17257

    wensolutions
    Keymaster

    Hello,

    We are sorry if you are looking for a theme which offers a single time purchase, if it is any consolation the theme will provide you 1 year of update after that too you will be able to use the theme, you will just not be able to receive the update.

    Hope it helps.
    Best regards.

    #17492

    evollo
    Participant

    Just wanted to let you know, a few CSS changes have successfully addressed nearly every issue we had in the free version Education Hub, even the WooCommerce sidebar layout issue. Thank you for an excellent theme.

    #77021

    wensolutions
    Keymaster

    Hello @evollo,

    Thank you very much for the appreciations.

    If you have any query/confusion related to the theme then please let us know.

    Thank you.

    #77022

    wensolutions
    Keymaster

    Hello @evollo,

    Thank you very much for the appreciations.

    If you have any query/confusion related to the theme then please let us know.

    Thank you.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.